Open relationships for insecure people

I’m currently living with my partner, but we’ll have to separate for about 6 months because of work reasons. We have been talking about the possibility of opening up our relationship and, on one hand I would like to give it a go, because although I’ve always wanted to have sex with a woman, I’ve never tried it “on my own” (always with a boyfriend involved), and I think this time could be a good moment to do it…

But in the other hand I’m very insecure and I’m still learning to manage my jealousy and emotional dependency, so I’m afraid I will be constantly overthinking about what my partner is doing, if he is with someone or not…

Is it any chance that open relationships can work for someone like me? I think that if I wait until I feel 100% emotionally ready I will never try it , but at the same time I don’t want to suffer :cry:

It really depends on the person, and also if you decide to move forward with it, I think you need to be really honest and communicative with your partner, and check-in a lot to see if you are handling things ok. If you decide to try it out, and see someone or sleep with someone, you’ll want to check-in with yourself after. How did it make you feel, what emotions are coming up. Same with them. Or even now, if your partner starts seeing someone, how would that make you feel? And what are the boundaries you are both setting? Are you wanting to date other people and build a bond, or are you just wanting to sleep with other people and have NSA situations? There are a lot of scenarios to talk out before to help ease fears.

So, this has been my main issue and why I’ve been monogamous with my current partner. Because I know my relationship with my own body needs some work still before I could open our relationship up, because I would go nuts overthinking things even though I totally trust my partner, because of my own insecurities.